I Eat All Day

I have a goal weight that I plan to meet at some point. I have an exercise plan that I intend to execute. I have a wonderful ability to take one step at a time (call it procrastination or avoidance, if you’d like).  One thing that I know for sure is that food and water intake can affect my mood significantly.  (Don’t you dare ask my husband for examples.)  When I had to follow a gestational diabetes diet during my third pregnancy, I learned a lot about the rise and fall of blood sugar and the feelings that come with it. 

Sometimes I think I don’t like an event when I am really just hungry.  For example, I now take a snack with me to eat between Bible Study and church on Sundays. Now I can handle the end of the sermon and alter call and even enjoy it without making lunch plans on my sermon notes. At school, I remind my students that they should pay attention to their bodies. If their absolute least favorite class is at the end of the day or right before lunch, it might not have anything to do with the subject at hand.

If I don’t bring my own snack to work, I tend to make poor snack decisions. Oh my goodness, I think I have a birthday cake radar on at all times when I am teaching. It is much easier to have a small bite or none at all when I have already had a good snack. The craving isn’t there.  Will power and blood sugar levels go hand-in-hand. 

My children are worth it.  Do as I say, not as I do, right? If I went by the rules I give my children, I’d be doing well.  When I was on my diet, I had my OB/GYN checking up on me regularly. I did NOT want to cause problems for my baby because I had not had self-control. It hit me the other day when I was teaching that my children can still be that accountability even though my doctor isn’t checking up on me weekly anymore.  I started a food diary today, too. We’ll see how it goes. 

I hope that something I learned will help you, too. This journey of life is a crazy ride, but let’s have some control over it. Remember that keeping your blood sugar regulated can help you be in control. Talk to your doctor and pray for wisdom and guidance.  Be kind. Eat well, often. 

